classification of crops based on their uses

Classification of crops based on their uses. before we delve into what or how crops are classified based on their general uses, let us first of all understand what is a crop… A crop is a plant that can be grown and harvested extensively for profit or subsistence. When the plants of the same kind are cultivated at one place on a large scale, it is called a crop. Most crops are cultivated in agriculture or hydroponics. Crops may include macroscopic fungus (e.g. mushrooms) and marine macroalga (e.g. seaweed), some of which are grown in aquaculture.

Most crops are harvested as food for humans or fodder for livestock. Some crops are gathered from the wild often in a form of intensive gathering

Classification of crops based on their uses

Classification of crops based on their uses are divided into the following categories:
Cereal crops: so how do we classify crops based on their uses? These crops that are classified as cereals, belong to the grass family and they provide carbohydrate, e.g, maize, rice, millet, guinea corn, wheat, barley and oats. most crops classified as cereal are mainly annual crops

(2)  another type of classification of crop based on their uses are the legumes which are very rich in protein   Pulses (grain legumes): These crops are rich sources of protein, e.g. cowpea, soya beans,
groundnut, lima bean and pigeon pea.

uses of barn, uses of farm crops

Root and tuber classification of crops

(3)     Roots and tuber crops: These crops produce tubers under the ground and they provide
carbohydrates, e.g., cassava, yam, cocoyam, sweet potato, beets and carrot.

classification of crops based on their uses as vegetable

(4)     Vegetable crops: These crops provide vitamins and minerals e.g amaranthus, onion, okra,
cauliflower, spinach, bitter leaf and talinum.

classification of crops based on their uses as fruits

(5)     Fruit crops: These also provide vitamins and minerals, e.g., orange, banana, pineapple, mango, pawpaw and cashew.

classification of crops based on their uses as beverage

(6)     Beverage crops: crops can be classified as a beverage crop if They provide food drinks when processed, e. cocoa, coffee and tea, kola nut.

classify crops as spices

(7)    Spices: These also provide vitamins and minerals. They also add flavour to our stew or soup, e.g. ginger, pepper and onion.

classify crop as Oil crop

(8)    Oil crops: These are crops which can provide oil when processed both for domestic and industrial uses, e.g., oil palm, groundnut, melon, coconut, soya bean, cotton.


(9)    Fibre crops: These are crops used for making clothing materials, ropes and bags, e.g. cotton, sisal, hemp, kenaf and hibiscus.


(10)    Latex crops: These are crops which provide some white sticky liquid or latex used in plastic industries, e.g., rubber.



concept of economics

economic tools for nation building


factors affecting the expansion of industries

mineral resources and the mining industries


let us know what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: